Skip to main content

Cornell University

FCS Staff - Rewards and Recognition Program

Facilities and Campus Services Rewards & Recognition Program

Facilities and Campus Services (FCS) has established a commitment to reward and recognize significant individual and team contributions and accomplishments of FCS employees.

A new recognition program will be coming soon- stay tuned!

The 2023-24 members of the Rewards and Recognition Committee are: 

Ellen Chase (Chair)
Bridgette Brady (Senior Advisor)
Andrew Brauzer, Sarah Carson, Carin Clark, Susan Evans, Renee Foote, Nadine Hachmann, Hazel Hall, Matt Johnston, Ray Roe, Christine Rogers, Dan Schied, Jessica Schillmoeller, J Shermeta, and Erin Worsell.
We can be contacted at

Cornell Appreciation Portal - for anytime!
Cornell Apprecation Portal link
Cornell Appreciation Portal:


FCS Employees of the Quarter (EOQ)

The FCS Employees of the Quarter program was designed to recognize three teams or individuals each quarter that go “above and beyond” their normal duties to accomplish something exceptional. The FCS Employees of the Quarter should continuously exhibit the FCS organizational values of Truth, Respect, Excellence, Teamwork, and Integrity.

The Employee of the Quarter event is currently on pause - a new program will be coming soon! (4/2024)

Annual Electronic Nomination Form or the Printable nomination form

If using the printable form, please save and send it to the FCS Rewards & Recognition email address: or drop off the paper copy to FCS Human Resources or Customer Service.  

The Annual FCS Employee Awards will be presented at the FCS Employee Celebration. Awards given annually will be at the discretion of the FCS awards committee and the VP of FCS. Individuals will receive the entire bonus amounts; teams will split the award equally among team members.


All nominees must consistently demonstrate the Cornell University Skills for Success, consistently demonstrate Facilities and Campus Services’ values, and have documented examples of accomplishments that align within one or more of the following five criteria.

  • Keystone Award - Excellence in service to the organization and consistently providing quality output in work activities. This award is the highest honor and will be awarded to the individual or team that exemplifies excellence and many of the qualities listed below in their work.

    • Cornerstone Award - Effectiveness Improvement - Implemented an innovative process improvement that had a significant cost and/or time savings for the organization.
    • Cornerstone Award - Distinction in Teamwork - Had a positive impact on a team by giving distinguished service, making a difference, or implementing a quality of work/life improvement.
    • Cornerstone Award - Dedication to Developing Others - Commitment to mentoring others and contributing towards the goal of succession planning.
    • Cornerstone Award - Campus or Community Service - Volunteerism efforts either external or internal to Cornell University.
  • Steve Wright Bridge Award – Diversity and Inclusion -  This award is given to an FCS employee who has demonstrated a significant, ongoing commitment to fostering diversity and inclusion.
    • "The Steve Wright Bridge Award was renamed in 2004 by the Diversity Committee to honor Steve Wright, Planning, Design and Construction (PDC) Director,1994-2004, for his dedication and commitment to championing the PDC Diversity Initiative that began in 1994. Many of the initiative's accomplishments would not have been possible without Steve's leadership. 
    • To that end, on October 20, 2004 the Diversity Committee presented Steve with a replica of the PDC Bridge Award and announced the renaming of the award, "The Steve Wright Bridge Award.” 
    • In 2010, the award was expanded to become a FCS division-wide award when FCS began the division-wide diversity and inclusion initiative. This award is given out annually."
  • FCS ”One Cornell” Awards- There are employees in FCS and across the University that really exemplify the meaning of “One Cornell.”  These individuals understand what it means to be a “steward” of Cornell University and goes the extra mile to help another unit outside of their own.
    • FCS “One Cornell” Award – An FCS team or employee that effectively worked across units, cultures and other boundaries to positively impact one of our campus partners or Cornell as a whole. 
    • FCS Campus Partner “One Cornell” Award – For a campus partner that effectively worked across units, cultures and other boundaries to positively impact Facilities and Campus Services.

FCS Annual Awards timeline:

Nomination period: July 1 to May 15

Nomination review period: May 15 - May 31

Award presentation: June 20 - June 30

Read about the winners of this quarter's Employees of the Quarter, Cornerstones, One Cornell's, Steve Wright Bridge, and Keystone Award  and their contributions to Cornell University!
Employees of the Quarter (2nd quarter, FY2024):
  • Kathy MacCheyne (EH&S)
  • Bill Leonard Jr. (EH&S)
  • FCS Customer Service Team: Kara Nash, Emily Sickmon, Luanne Stockdale, Jessica Schillmoeller

2023 Keystone & Cornerstone Awards

Keystone Award:  Chas Porter (Facilities Management, Pipe Shop)

Cornerstone Awards:

  • Cornerstone: Effectiveness Improvement – Stacey Edwards (Energy & Sustainability)

  • Cornerstone: Dedication to Developing Others – Josh LaPenna (Energy & Sustainability)
  • Cornerstone: Campus & Community Service – Careen Arsenault (Energy & Sustainability)
  • Cornerstone: Distinction in Teamwork - The CUBO Team:  Tammy Johnson (project manager), Jon Minarski (project coordinator), and Travis Fisher (director of project Management), from Engineering and Project Management; Frank Perry (construction manager), Sarah Carson (director of campus sustainability), Careen Arsenault (sustainability coordinator), and Sam Fairchild from Energy and Sustainability; Brenda Frank (contracts manager) of Facilities and Administrative; Chas Porter (pipe fitter) in Facilities Management; and Andrew Fowler (project manager) at Cornell Tech.

Steve Wright Bridge Award for Diversity and Inclusion Diversity and Inclusion 2023 Video team: Helen Steh, Shaquana Crispell, Martin Conlon, Grace Dembia, Amanda “Ace” Elmer, Brennan Fitzgibbons, Kenneth Knapp, Carson Lopez, Nathan Moseley, Lyndsi Prignon, Patrick Sherry, Gerald Towne, Patrick Vrooman, Jeremy Woodhull and Phil Woodin III

One Cornell Awards:

  • One Cornell – Cheryl Brown and Kara Bugis (EH&S)

  • One Cornell (Partner) – Robert Hoon and Jared Pittman (Cornell Office of General Counsel)

Previous winners